Rosemary Port v. Liskula Cohen AND Google

Rosemary Port, the outed anti-Liskula Cohen blogger is to sue Google for $15million.

Rosemary Port, a Fashion student, said:

“By going to the press, she defamed herself,”

“Before her suit, there were probably two hits on my Web site: One from me looking at it, and one from her looking at it,” Port said. “That was before it became a spectacle. I feel my right to privacy has been violated.”

“When I was being defended by attorneys for Google, I thought my right to privacy was being protected,”

“But that right fell through the cracks. Without any warning, I was put on a silver platter for the press to attack me. I would think that a multi-billion dollar conglomerate would protect the rights of all its users.”

I think that outing Port was the correct decision, and I can’t help but think that her lawyer’s decision to try and sue Google, is nothing more than playing to Port’s vanity and need for attention.

If she had nothing to hide, why post anonymously?

Liskula Cohen, the model implicated has chosen not to follow up her $3million claim – a fine gesture that leaves Port looking more than a little foolish.

7 thoughts on “Rosemary Port v. Liskula Cohen AND Google

  1. Pingback: Configuring Your Own Adsl Router | Business BroadBand

  2. What a funny story. Only in America eh? Fair play to the lass IMO, who can blame her for having a craic? She won’t get anwhere, but at least she’ll keep her name in the media a while longer (and forever set in stone on the web).

    I don’t think this story reflects too well on Cohen. What sort of fragile ego would make such a song and dance over being called a ‘skank’ by some pleb with zero influence? I should bloody hope she dropped the $3 million lawsuit.

    But then again, if a newspaper wouldn’t say that without fear of reprisal, then neither should a blogger, regardless of the size of their readership.

    Anonymity is a sticky issue when it comes to blogging. I’m completely against it – it’s totally anti-transparency and reflects poorly on the author, unless they have sufficient reason to hide their identity.

    Bloggers need to realise that with the power of self-publishing, comes the responsibility of fair reportage. Unless they want to run the risk of being made an example of.

  3. Liskula Cohen’s last name is common in Israel as Smith and Jones. Cohen means Priest in Hebrew. In Hebrew: .כֹּהֵן‎

  4. There are other entertainers have a Cohen Connection:
    Paul Frees’ mother’s maiden name was Cohen.
    Henry Corden’s real name was Henry Cohen.

  5. There is another common name like Cohen: Nadler.
    My friend told me that Nadler is common in Romania like Smith and Jones.

  6. Jerome Irving Rodale’s real name was Jerome Irving Cohen. His appearance on TV with Dick Cavett and it remains unreleased due to his passing.

Leave a Reply

