Barclaycard: Creating A Bad Online Customer Experience

[UPDATE 28.10.09: Barclaycard have now rectified this problem on thier site, hurrah! Much kudos to Kerryn from their PR team for getting in touch and helping me out – I know how tough it can be responding to customer service related enquiries as a PR.

The website issues have been resolved and the troublesome fields that were stoking my frustrations have now been made optional rather than fixed, which means that the Londoners without a county to enter now won’t find their progress is halted.]

Barclaycard’s Online Customer Experience is rubbish.

When I was at University I went to a student fair and found myself lured by the seemingly easy credit on offer from Barclaycard. £450 extra to pay for all my books that I wouldn’t otherwise have been able to afford – lovely.

Five years on I am still paying off the books and nowhere near clearing the debt. This is not the issue I have, indeed it’s taught me a valuable lesson: don’t get a credit card.

I found it laughable that in this digital world in which we live, it is so difficult to make minor changes to the way I choose to give money to Barclaycard.

A simple payment process is complicated by different security hurdles which force you to remember various different passwords via different screens.

My frustration at this process was confounded when, after several attempts to make a payment and my card being refused (why I do not know), I gave up and setup a direct debit.

I do not like using direct debits as I find they are restrictive when trying to juggle monthly finances. I do not like being forced to take one option over another because of a technical fault.

Being a green type, I thought I’d change the way I receive my bills to non-paper, requiring me to change the address to which the card is registered (it’s still at my old house). Using the change details screen I entered my new address, only for it to be refused. I tried again, once more it was refused, despite each detail being correct. The form requires you to enter a Village/Area or Town/City and then a County, based on details from a ‘find address’ function. London is my county, so I tried just entering this, but to no avail. I tried with both City and County as London – no joy. I tried various other combinations but these were not accepted.

Can it be so difficult in the 21st century for a financial service provider to make a fully functioning and easy to use website to complement the outrageous charges they hit the consumer with?

22 thoughts on “Barclaycard: Creating A Bad Online Customer Experience

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Barclaycard: Creating A Bad Online Customer Experience « The Seldom Seen Kid [geetarchurchy.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Creating a checklist of good | Superstar Book Deals

  3. Pingback: The voice of your business: conversation skills for Customer Service Reps | How to Get Girls

  4. Pingback: Creating Products: Financial Details | Make Money Fast

  5. Pingback: Creating a Baseball Fantasy League | Superstar Book Deals

  6. Pingback: Creating Special Effects for TV and Video, Third Edition | Real Tech Reports

  7. Pingback: MaxPro System - Guide To Creating Tremendous Wealth W/ Appl. | Make Money Fast

  8. Pingback: 5 Ways to Fail at Creating and Flipping Websites | Make Money Fast

  9. Pingback: Premium TV for PC Platinum Edition - Saves Cost, Time and Effort When Creating Your Own Super Computer Internet TV System! | Real Tech Reports

  10. Pingback: Guide To Creating Spa Products [75% Payout, High Converting]. | Make Money Fast

  11. Pingback: Affiliate Marketing- Creating an Affiliate Website That Sells Like Crazy | Make Money Fast

  12. Pingback: Cheap Broadband Packages : Creating Waves in the Market | Real Tech Reports

  13. Hi Matt,
    Kerryn from the Barclaycard Public Relations team here. Sorry to hear about your frustrations, have you tried raising this issue with our customer services team? They can be reached on , or via . Or, reply to this comment with your email and we can take this offline and look into it for you.
    Thanks,
    Kerryn

  14. Pingback: Barclaycard: Impressive Public Relations « The Seldom Seen Kid

  15. Pingback: Financial Statements: A Step-by-Step Guide to Understanding and Creating Financial Reports | Superstar Book Deals

  16. Pingback: Simple Ways to Make Money: A College Student’s Guide to Creating Income | Superstar Book Deals

  17. Pingback: 6 Tips For Creating Book Club Discussion Questions For Your Book and Other Book Marketing Tips | Superstar Book Deals

  18. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find
    almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your
    case? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome blog!

  19. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return
    the favor”.I

    am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  20. Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a
    few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why
    but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

