How To Embed Soundcloud in Tumblr

Soundcloud and Tumblr are leading the way in both of their respective fields, and combining the two by embedding SoundCloud’s audio player is a popular way of sharing music.

SoundCloud is a music streaming service which gives you 2 hours worth of space with which you can upload your mp3s. Posting the streams of these mp3s to Tumblr, the popular microblogging platform, couldn’t be easier.

First, login to both your SoundCloud and Tumblr accounts, simple, I know!

In Soundlcoud go to ‘You’, and then ‘Tracks’ – this will take you to the songs you’ve uploaded. Once you’ve decided what song you want to embed into a Tumblr post, click on the ‘Share’ icon.

This brings up a new module with a piece of HTML code – copy the HTML and head over to Tumblr.

In your Tumblr dashboard start a new post by clicking ‘Text’ and in the clear page, copy the HTML. Hit ‘Preview’ to make sure it looks right, and then publish your post!

A simple yet effective way of sharing your music with your Tumblr community without going over your limited audio uploads.

If you’re on either Tumblr or Soundcloud leave me a comment and I’ll be sure to have a look and a listen!

28 thoughts on “How To Embed Soundcloud in Tumblr

  1. For all the people wondering if you can embed other people’s soundcloud tracks: yes it’s possible. Just click on the Share button next to the Save to Favorites button and copy the embed code just like you would with your own tracks :) Also, you might want to add that you need to be in HTML mode while doing your text post in tumblr, if not all you’re gonna see is all the embedding code instead of the actual player

  2. Hi! Very good post, very concise, only I did everything you said and when I ask to see a preview instead of seeing the imbedded soundcloud I can only see a rectangular box with a red cross, as if the image won’t show and it’s not hyperlinked… Any ideas?

  3. Worked (kinda), but why can’t I share an entire set? I think that’d be a lot neater, but it keeps saying ‘error’ on tumblr when I share an entire set.

    soundcloud.com/schatzmusic

  4. my soundcloud widget wont show up on my tumbler. it worked for a few weeks, now for the past week its been just a white box where the widget should be?? and thats with safari.
    in firefox, the page was showing fine for a few weeks, now you cant see it iat all, the whole page id white???
    Please help!!!
    thnaks!

  5. my soundcloud widget wont show up on my tumbler. it worked for a few weeks, now for the past week its been just a white box where the widget should be?? and thats with safari.
    in firefox, the page was showing fine for a few weeks, now you cant see it iat all, the whole page id white???
    I havent really changed anything on the soundcloud set.
    Please help!!!
    thnaks!

  6. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have came upon so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure in regards to the supply?|What i do not realize is in reality how you’re now not really much more well-preferred than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent.

  7. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I’m hoping to provide something back and aid others like you aided me.

  8. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I
    believed this put up was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger when you
    are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

