Getting Back to Blogging

It feels good to blog. It’s a very cathartic process, getting ideas written down, sharing cool stuff that will hopefully be of interest to others, it’s great and I enjoy it.

Back in the bit after uni but before full time employment I had a grand plan to blog about music, which I did, and to get my writing noticed and hopefully picked up by a magazine, riding off into the sunset in a journalistic blaze of glory, which I didn’t.

When I wasn’t doing my part time job i’d be writing missives about bands i’d never heard of, going to gigs and coming up with reviews and sharing thoughts, news and opining about the scene.

I did this a lot, writing perhaps 10-15 pieces a week for various blogs. Unfortunately the dream never came true and I switched my focus from unpaid content producing to paid content pushing.

Three years on and the digital landscape has shifted and changed dramatically, so much so that the offline content pushing I was doing in 2007 is now online content sharing and strategy.

I’ve found myself a little recently when coming up with content for Seldom Seen Kid, so I decided to re-visit my roots to try and re-capture that burning enthusiasm I’ve always felt for blogging.

As such i’m now contributing to several blogs, all covering topics that I only touch upon here. I’m writing the odd piece now for Space Junkie, a gaming blog run by my colleague and co-social media conspirator Dan Lazarides.

I’m doing the odd piece on technology for Simon Barker‘s Zath, now 12th in the Wikio rankings of UK tech blogs.

And i’m finally back into writing for someone else’s music blog, Muso’s Guide founded by Natalie Shaw, which is re-igniting my passion for writing about music.

Why the self-indulgent post?

I think that what i’m trying to relay is that if you find yourself struggling to think of what to write, or considering quitting blogging, think about what made you start in the first place. What really stokes your fires?

You might be writing about a completely different topic now, than you were say, three years ago when you started blogging.

Take a look back at what you were writing at the start, look at how far you’ve come and how you’ve developed.

Work out what made you want to write in the first place and try doing it again, only this time, using your existing experience, skills and knowledge to be better.

Leave a Reply

