Facebook Ticker

Facebook Ticker arrived on the right hand side of my Facebook homepage last night, right under a sponsored story, and I’m not entirely sure what the point of the ticker exactly is.

Gradually rolled out since mid August, Facebook Ticker serves you instant content from within your network whilst your main feed is reserved for what Facebook has called ‘Highlights’.

I’d be keen to know exactly how Facebook determines what content fits into which section – I assume that it is down to EdgeRank, their algorithm for deciding how relevant content is to each individual user.

I’m not particularly keen on it.

1) The feed sits underneath an advert (I don’t go on Facebook to receive adverts) which indicates Facebook think less of their users than they do revenue

2) It takes away the importance of personalising content through EdgeRank – if something isn’t deemed relevant to me, I don’t want to see it

3) The position is odd and it takes the user away from their main feed and by default, away from the ‘prime’ content they are using Facebook to see

I can see that Facebook are looking to re-real-time their content offering to users, but for me, in it’s current state, it just doesn’t work.

Have you seen Facebook Ticker yet and what did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “Facebook Ticker

  1. Pingback: Facebook Ticker | 香港新媒體協會

Leave a Reply

