Cause/Affect – Doing It Yourself

Cause/Affect

As you probably know by now, as well as working at Edelman Digital, I’m a gigging and recording solo artist.

On May 6th I released my first solo EP, Cause/Affect. It is the first in a series of three EPs that will collectively capture 7 years of work.

Each EP will be available in a limited edition cut cover package, available via mattchurchill.co.uk, accompanied by downloads of each song.

Each EP has been produced, mixed and mastered by Hyper Lion from Pariis Opera House.

The process has been as DIY as it’s possible to be (ish). The recording, packaging and promotion has been entirely self-funded, but in the age of Internet democratisation, it has been a simple project to pull off.

The recording took place at my flat, or ‘Seldom Seen Kid Studios’ as I’d prefer it to be known, and utilised a single USB microphone and Cubase.

It always helps to have a genius as a producer, so I’m fortunate that I know Hyper Lion relatively well…

All of the artwork is either my photography or that of my friend Duncan who’s been taking photos of my various musical incarnations for years.

The packaging itself was designed by me and made up by the folks at ACDSleeve, and I have to say I’m delighted with the way that it’s come out.

I’ve struggled to get music bloggers to cover the EP, although the kind folks at Indie Rock Cafe did recently, so this is something I’ve got to work on for the next release.

I have had one small success, with Tom Robinson including Of My Time, the second track on the EP, on his BBC6Music mix tape. I’m really proud of this too; it’s a life goal chalked off.

It’s a labour of love to make something like this, but I have to say I’m overjoyed with the way that it’s come out. In the age of digital we can easily forget what it’s like to make something tangible, and I’m really proud of what’s been achieved so far.

It’s tough trying to book gigs (that you inevitably don’t get paid for), manage recording, balance a budget and promote the music, but it’s so easy to do using technology that it’d be foolish not to try it. You never know what might happen.

Leave a Reply

