A New Blogging Adventure

I’ve been blogging about music and technology since about 2005. Now I’m branching out in to Whisky, coffee and cheese.

I love blogging because it helps me to stay sharp in terms of writing and thinking critically about something that has been created, whether it’s a piece of music, a social media service or a gadget.

I realised a short time ago that I missed blogging for fun. Music reviewing was always a release after I stopped doing it full time, but it can be a real drain when there are other things to be getting on with, like work.

There are so many music blogs which have stepped away from the essence of what they were when they started, or got bought out, that trying to start again and walk into that particular minefield was always going to be tough.

Indeed, just getting a review with them can be a pain in the arse. Hours sending emails to hundreds of folks who claim to be into ‘new music’ or of a ‘DIY aesthetic’ but never even acknowledge you, are hours wasted.

The music blogging community has become so entrenched with it’s own perceived importance that it bears no resemblance to the community I was part of at all.

If I can’t devote time to music blogging, there’s no point; music is so important to me that If I can’t dedicate myself fully to it, then I’d be doing the artists a disservice.

That’s why I’ve decided to try something a bit different.

Malts Beans and Cheese will be a blog that documents my interests in whisky/whiskey, coffee and cheese.

It’ll be a fun distraction which I hope will complement the more serious digital culture compositions on Seldom Seen Kid.

I hope you’ll consider joining me!

Leave a Reply

